Tags

, , , , , ,

Having finished my latest web design read I’m on to another self promotion read, the classic Milon Townsend‘s “Making & Marketing Better Artwork.” Harriete Estel Berman recommended the book and I am 50 pages in, thoroughly enjoying and avidly learning with each page I turn. It is a wonder this book was published 11 years ago and is still right on the money. If you haven’t read it yet PICK IT UP!

Townsend highlights six ingredients of artists’ literature:

There are six essential elements by which you can inform your audience, offering them a glimpse of the origin of your artistic vocabulary, voice and vision.

  1. Images of the Work
  2. Image of the Artist
  3. Curriculum Vitae
  4. Artist Biography
  5. Artist’s Statement
  6. Description of Technique

Townsend proceeds to explain each element and its value then gives examples. I was inspired! I will soon be visiting two east coast towns and would like to find small boutiques in each that would be a good fit for my work. Sounds like I need a promotional piece to leave with shops! Below is my first pass.

Image of Julia Dziuba's first promotional literature: a postcard inviting new boutiques to carry her art

Front side of Julia’s first promotional postcard

Image of Julia Dziuba's first promotional literature: a postcard inviting new boutiques to carry her art

Back side of Julia’s first promotional postcard

I’ve included images of four pieces that compliment each other, an image of myself and an artist’s statement. Three of six elements along with my name, twice, extensive contact information and inline with Alyson B. Stanfield suggestions a call to action.

Please give feedback. What can I improve? What do you like? If you owned a shop would you take the time to look at my site? Would you contact me?

