Tags

, , , , ,

The posts have been a bit slow lately – sorry about that. Life caught up with me. It started with a 10 day family vacation and on the way home my grandmother died. On the way to the airport I learned she had had a stroke and while finding my seat on the plane my sister called to say she would not recover. When landing for a connection flight I learned she had passed. All this while traveling with my husband, 3 year old and 6 month old. It was one of the most stressful and saddest days of my life.

My grandma’s last day was not so stressful though. She passed quickly and was surrounded by loved ones as she took her last breathes.

Picture of Dorothy Phinney, myself and my daughter Rose.

The last picture I took with my grandma in May of 2010. My daughter Rose is on my hip.

She was an inspiring woman and one of my greatest mentors. She lived with my family throughout my childhood and I feel grateful for every moment of it. She was an educated woman who knew herself and her world. She loved her family and nurtured them as individuals. She traveled every chance she could and loved the beach and long evenings on the porch.

She has inspired me to create a new piece. A small, dense, textural collage called “Eternal Garden”. I will share my progress on it.

Her obituary:

Dorothy I. Phinney 90 – of Cape May passed away on Saturday, June 9, 2012 surrounded by her family. She graduated from Chestnut Hill College in 1944 with a Bachelor’s Degree in Economics and furthered her education later in life, receiving her Master’s Degree in Library and Information Science from Rowan University in 1971. As a college student during WWII she worked summers in the war industry and volunteered at the USO. After graduating she first worked for RCA then at the Philadelphia Electric Company. Before marrying, she spent time traveling and living around the country with friends.

Dorothy has been a resident of Cape may since 1970. She was formally emplyed by the Cape May County Library System in Cape May Court House where she worked for 15 years and retired as the Assistant Director in 1987.

Dorothy was a member of the Great Books Club at the Cape May County Library; the Great Decisions Club of Cape May County; The League of Woman Voters; Our Lady of the Assumption Praryer Group, Wildwood Creast and Our Lady Star of the Sea Church, Cape May.

Dorothy loved life, family, living near the ocean, visiting at the country house, going to Mass, books, traveling, singing and most especially children.

She was predeceased by two of her brothers, James and Robert Phinney.

Dorothy will be dearly missed by her loving family which includes her four children, Dorothy Kittner (and her husband, Harry Anderson), Charles Kittner, Julia (and Chuck) Wakelee; and Margaret (and Jay) Bethel; one brother, Mark E. Phinney (and his wife Shirley) and one sister Catherine Leszczynski; seven grandchildren and four great granddaughters.

Mass of Christian Burial will be celebrated…

