Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Quick mark the date – I have finished Peace Invites. I have never worked so long on a piece. Counting the year it spent in purgatory as I pondered why I ever started such a ridiculous project it took two years.

Collage painting by Julia Dziuba titled Peace Invites and made of acrylic, mirror, fabric, beads and wire

“Peace Invites” by Julia Dziuba created with two 12×24 inch canvases and composed of acrylic, mirror, fabric, beads and wire

In the summer of 2010 the work started with my putting a mirror into a box, taping the box closed and repeatedly throwing the box down the stairs. My husband and brother stood  nearby (behind) shaking their heads. It actually took several throws for the mirror to get good and shattered – apparently I need more stairs in my house. This is one of those “don’t try this at home” stories.

Next steps were to lay a base layer of paint on two canvases, glue a pond of broken mirror, grow an earth of fabric and wire, construct a tree trunk and branches with mirror, wire and fabric then bead a weeping willow. Simple right? Well that last little bit, the bead a weeping willow bit, took a while. After about 4,000 beads my inspiration ran dry.  Seriously, don’t try this at home.

The project sat for over a year. It was sad but I could not bring myself back to it. But then one day I picked up my needle and thread and my hundreds of beads and strung another 1000 before I called it a day.

Finishing touches have been made and now, today, Peace Invites is complete. Enjoy the pictures! To get an up close look and run your fingers through the weeping willow (when I’m not looking of course) you can visit Peace Invites at the Sun Gallery in Hayward, CA. The piece will be a part of the A Thread Runs Through It exhibition showing from July 11th through August 11th.

Up-close picture of the weeping willow in Julia Dziuba's painting "Peace Invites". The piece is created with acrylic, fabric, mirror, wire and beads

Up-close image of the weeping willow in Julia Dziuba’s “Peace Invites”. Over 5,000 beads were used.

Up-close image of Julia Dziuba's "Peace Invites". The piece is created with acrylic, mirror, fabric, wire and beads.

Up-close image of Julia Dziuba’s “Peace Invites”

Up-close image of Julia Dziuba's "Peace Invites". This piece is created with acrylic, fabric, mirror, wire and beads.

Up-close image of Julia Dziuba’s “Peace Invites”

