Tags

, , , , ,

I have two distinct styles of jewelry and it is not clear the best way to bridge the gap between them. It feels unnatural for my work to be traveling in two different directions at once but I don’t want one to yield to the other. They need to marry in a way that spotlights both.

My first style is intricately beaded pieces. I have been developing this style for years and I find the work exhilarating. Each piece is born from fresh inspiration and is a unique composition of beads and movement.

Beadwork necklace by Julia Dziuba

Example of first type of style, by Julia Dziuba

Shell and Stone Collage Necklace created by Julia Dziuba

Example of second type of style, by Julia Dziuba

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My second style is only about a year old and on an island of its own. It freezes organic, beach themed materials in textural collages with resin. These pieces are bold and statements. I’ve posted before about how this style came to be.

The question is how to mix intricate movement with blocks of textural collage? I’ve dropped a strand or two of beads from the collaged work but I would like a tighter mix of the designs. Below are four attempts. I’d say the first two were close to failures while the final two are closer to target!

Mix of shell collage and beadwork, first attempt by Julia Dziuba

First attempt at mixing shell collage and beadwork by Julia Dziuba

Mix of shell collage and beadwork, second attempt by Julia Dziuba

Second attempt at mixing shell collage and beadwork by Julia Dziuba

Mix of shell collage and beadwork, third attempt by Julia Dziuba

Third attempt at mixing shell collage and beadwork by Julia Dziuba

Mix of shell collage and beadwork, fourth attempt by Julia Dziuba

Fourth attempt at mixing shell collage and beadwork by Julia Dziuba

 

Let me know what you think and any suggestions you might have!

