I am an artist. I always feel honored when asked about my training – because I have none.

No formal training. Not to date at least. But I think it’s time to change that.

I bought a new book… McCreight’s Complete Metalsmith: Professional Edition. I can’t put it down. There is so much to learn and so much to try.

I need a class. I need access to all the tools and time to try several techniques. I need to learn. Now.

In the process of reviewing local metalsmithing classes I decided to join the San Francisco Metal Arts Guild. This is the first step in a new chapter of my professional development. Some training.

When was the last time you were excited and embracing that green feeling that comes when you look at a field you know very little about and say “I want that.” I’m jumping in. I’m learning. I’m hoping to meet many in the field – friends, teachers, masters. I’m hoping to grow.

Ready Set GO!

