Tags

, , , , ,

Alyson Stanfield turned me on to “The Power of Habit” by Charles Duhigg (Thanks, Alyson!). I’ve been reading it in those moments you find here and there and would say I am generally enjoying it.

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg

The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg

I was nervous when I first picked it up that it would be “Cargo Cult Science.” And there were moments of that but for the most part it was a useful read. It made me look at my life in a slightly different light.

Small day-to-day habits, by their very nature of being “habit,” do not usually get much attention. But on a day to day basis these are most of what you do. Why shouldn’t you put these routines in the spotlight now and again?

But while thinking is good I’m wondering if and when I may start changing my habits. This is where the book is vague. It is written in a general way to show the framework of a habit. It helps the reader identify habits but the specifics are too specific to that person and that habit to remotely address in this book.

Is being aware enough? Will change begin inherently since I am aware and thinking of my habits as just that – habits?

If you believe you can change – if you make it a habit – the change becomes real. This is the real power of habit: the insight that your habits are what you choose them to be. Once that choice occurs – and becomes automatic – it’s not only real, it starts to seem inevitable…” Duhigg, The Power of Habit, pg 273

I have made a couple of small modifications to my day that move it in a good direction. Maybe I should go back and re-read “I’d Rather Be in the Studio” to get inspiration for my new and improved habits.

