Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was recently commissioned to design and create necklaces for each of the 5 bridesmaids of the Kristen Handerhan and James Atwood wedding party. Weddings are incredibly special events. It is such an honor to be asked to be apart of one. With each wedding commission I feel so fortunate.

K&J Bridesmaid Set created by Julia Dziuba

K&J Bridesmaids’ Necklaces Created by Julia Dziuba

While there is common ground in most weddings it is the bride and groom, their family and friends and the small, very important details that make the day. Kristen and James are incredibly people and it is very important to me that my work fits into and extend the vision they have for the day. I know their wedding will be a day of relaxed but passionate love that celebrates the union of individuals.

I worked with Kristen to appreciate her color scheme, thoughts on the look and feel of each piece, her expectations, and budget. We discussed the pieces in my collection she liked most and what she liked about them. As I collected stones and beads we refined. I sent pictures of each design and received feedback.

Kristen liked the idea of each piece being unique as they were presents to each of the women in her life. We found the turquoise carved bird stones and decided to use these as a common element in each piece. The birds are on the right side of the necklace to face the wedding attendees during the ceremony. Each piece is made of a combination of turquoise and aquamarine stones, Swarovski crystals and sterling silver components.

A collage of K&J Bridesmaids Set by Julia Dziubaand Kristen's wedding color board.

A Collage of K&J Bridesmaids’ Necklaces by Julia Dziuba and Kristen’s Wedding Color Board.

Kristen was incredible to work with. She had a definite look she wanted but also appreciated my creative workflow and left me freedom to think, design and ultimately please her. It was very refreshing to work with her and such an honor to contribute to her wedding.

