Tags

, , , , , ,

I’d like to present my latest piece! This one was created for my Aunt and  titled Golden Spring. When she last visited she really enjoyed looking through my collection and described what she liked about my beaded work. I listened and then created a piece I thought incorporated the elements she enjoyed.

Golden Spring, Created by Julia Dziuba

Golden Spring, Created by Julia Dziuba

I found using gold changed the way I think about the role of a chain in a necklace. I usually work in silver and tend to use small chains that “disappear” into the neckline, leaving the focus on my beaded work. Gold, even a delicate gold chain, does not vanish in quite the same way – and maybe that’s a good thing! This is the first piece I’ve created that really incorporates the chain into the design of the piece.

Golden Spring Created by Julia Dziuba

Golden Spring Created by Julia Dziuba

I also found the richness in the gold color to be inspiring. It afforded a stronger color pallet. I really had a lot of fun with this one.

Up Close Shot of  Golden Spring Created by Julia Dziuba

Up Close Shot of Golden Spring Created by Julia Dziuba

The final design point I’d like to focus on is the balance in the seemingly randomness. This piece is comprised of several strands crisscrossing or weaving into and out of each other. While it may look like disorder that just happens to “work” it is actually quite calculated. Each bead was thought about and on multiple occasions beads were removed and restrung to get just the right look and length.

Let me know what you think!

