Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

First order of business once full-time in my own business? Check in with all of my local businesses. This wasn’t too hard since my work is currently only at PersonalFX in Half Moon Bay, CA and the Sun Gallery in Hayward, CA but never-the-less CHECK and CHECK!

The shelf in the Sun Gallery gift shop featuring Julia Dziuba's work. Check it out in person if you are in the Bay Area, CA.

The shelf in the Sun Gallery gift shop featuring Julia Dziuba’s work. Check it out in person if you are in the Bay Area, CA.

I love visiting PersonalFX. Kathy, the owner and designer, has such an eye and her shop is full of little treasures from artists in all stages of their careers. While she has been designing for decades it is obvious she is equally passionate about supporting her boutique’s clientele and bringing them the latest designs and great variety. Every time I enter at least one if not several ‘old friends’ come in, find what they are looking for quickly and then sometimes even find a couple extra gifts for friends. Kathy has built up an inspiring business!

As a designer Kathy is interested in the growth in my pieces and my future directions. She always offers critiques, insights, and encouragement. It is rare to be given such honest feedback and from a person in the industry.

My visit to the Sun Gallery was an exciting one as I was asked to fill a whole shelf in their gift shop. It was a great honor to join the artists in the gift shop. The Sun Gallery is a small operation but one that is involved in its community and therefore a very interesting place. It has an incredible spread of visitors, members, and fellow contributing artists from many backgrounds. I always meet several interesting people each time I visit and find their insights and different perspectives interesting.

While online may reach more, there is nothing like the captive audience of individuals who have entered a physical location because they want something! Now get out and shop!

