Oh, the joys of learning. No seriously. It’s been pure joy. About 2-3 weeks ago I dove into learning Ruby on Rails, Git and a couple other things along the tool chain. I don’t think I’ve ever dove in to anything with such enthusiasm. It’s really been the perfect storm of time, energy, motivation, and resources.

Myself, Julia Dziuba, stealing a couple quiet moments on the plane to code.

Myself, Julia Dziuba, stealing a couple of quiet moments on the plane to code.

It all started about a year ago when I started growing my jewelry business and was faced with the trouble of managing consignment contracts with multiple venues, gallery shows, and online sites and stores. How do artists keep track of where their pieces are, where they have been and how each has been priced along its journey?

I started in excel then ported to a database – access for a quick start. While a relational database and stored queries allow for quick reports of the status and location of each piece along with professional consignment and sales reports it wasn’t good enough. With a disconnected database and online presence I found myself updating at least 2 if not 4 or 5 places. There has got to be a better way.

There is nothing better than a good pain point to drive the development of a new tool. I’m forging that better way and finding excellent resources now that I have the time and energy to look.

Learning has rejuvenated me. I’m soaking it in and dreaming.

Artists, I’d love to hear about your personal pain points in the management of your business. Please share!

